Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EN 121: Library Modules (Erica Salmonson and Garrett Traylor): Week #10: Citation

Creating Citations

Hi everyone,

In this week's library module, we will be wrapping up the library lessons by learning how to create citations.  I am sure you all have cited material in some form or another by this point, but hopefully after working through the materials for this week you will have learned something new and are a little better equipped to produce quality citations.

  • A citation is a reference statement in your work.  This helps your reader understand that you found information or an idea from someone else.  This is a required and important part of research; you must give credit where credit is due.

What is required this week:

  • Read the "Citation Tricks" handout.
  • Watch the "Schewe Library - Citation Strategies" video.
  • For your chosen 2 books, 2 scholarly articles, and 2 web resources, produce accurate and properly formatted citations in the MLA 8th edition style for each in your Google Doc.  If you like, you can put the URL/Permalink for each resource at the end of the citation in order to facilitate getting back to it easier (and indeed some citations already require that you include a link as a part of a given citation).  Feedback will only be given upon request.  Otherwise, you may also consider contacting the Campus Writing Center, an excellent source for feedback on writing!

If you like to learn by studying examples, remember that there are example citations in the initial Library Annotated Bibliography Assignment as well as in Schewe Library's MLA Citation Guide.  There are some key tips in the "Citation Tricks" handout that will be incredibly helpful for generating your citations... don't miss it!

And as always, if you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask!


Annotated bibliographies due soon (April 9th at 10:00 AM)

Due to the circumstances of the semester, keep in mind that I will be accepting late work for the various parts of this assignment.  There is, however, still a Friday, April 9th at 10:00 AM deadline for the final version of the annotated bibliography (this is extended from April 6th as per the original syllabus due to that deadline falling right after the Easter Holiday).  Any final annotated bibliography turned in after April 9th will be subject to point reductions up to a full letter grade as per the Engagement section of the rubric in the Library Annotated Bibliography Assignment.  I am also willing to grant extensions to those in need, so if you know you are running into an issue or have some other emergency, contact me in advance and we can talk about an extension.  An extension means that I will accept your final annotated bibliography past the April 9th deadline without it being subject to the letter grade penalty.  I’m not interested in making your life harder; I’m here to teach you how to use library resources and to succeed at research, so communicate your problems to me and we can figure out how to fix them.  But you must email me in advance and by in advance, I mean before 4:00 PM on Wednesday, March 31st (before the Easter Holiday).  No extension requests will be granted after 4:00 PM on Wednesday, March 31st, unless it is an absolute and true emergency.  This is still a few weeks out, so please do contact me if you have any questions.

So to recap: The new due date for the final annotated bibliography assignment is Friday, April 9th at 10:00 AM.  No email before 4:00 PM on Wednesday, March 31st means no extension.  No extension means that annotated bibliographies turned in past the new due date will be subject to up to a full letter grade reduction, though the work will still be accepted.

The Best Ways to Cite

Take a look at the following video and guide which outline some tricks for creating effective citations.

Schewe Library's Citation Guides & Official Handbooks + Manuals

Click on an image below to view Schewe Library's citation guides.

Library MLA Citation Quick GuideLibrary APA Citation Quick GuideLibrary Chicago Citation Quick Guide

Click on an image below to access the official handbooks and manuals for the APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.

       The cover of MLA Handbook 9th edition. Click on this to be taken to the Schewe Library catalog listing of this book.                          

Citation Builders

These are additional online tools to help you create citations.  You may already be familiar with one or a few of them.  These resources can be great in a pinch, but they are not always accurate and will often make you sit through ads that run for more time than it might take for you to create a citation manually.  Be sure to double check any citation produced by an online citation generator for accuracy and completion they often come out messy.

Service MLA 8th APA 7th Chicago 17th Cites Websites? Ads?
BibGuru No
MyBib No
Google Scholar ~ x No
Cite This For Me Yes
Citation Machine Yes
BibMe Yes
EasyBib x (not free) x (not free) Yes

Contact Me


Garrett Traylor
 -- Reference & Cataloging Librarian
Email: garrett.traylor@ic.edu

Office Phone: 217.245.3207

Office: Schewe Library 205
Student Hours: 6:30PM-8:30PM Mondays, 8:30AM-NOON Tuesdays-Fridays
Live Chat with a Librarian