Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EN 121: Library Modules (Erica Salmonson and Garrett Traylor): Week #5: Databases & Scholarly Articles

Introduction: Databases & Scholarly Articles

Hi everyone,

In this week's library module, we will learn about the difference between popular and scholarly articles, as well as how to use databases to find scholarly articles.  You'll find a series of handouts/videos below that will get you up to speed on these concepts. 

There is a lot of content to absorb this week, so take your time, don't rush, and ask questions if things aren't clear.  In my opinion, this is the most important library module of them all!  The absolutely necessary takeaways for this week are: that you understand the difference between popular and scholarly articles; that you understand what a database is and how to use it; and that you understand how permalinks/stable URLs/Get Links work in databases. 

Once you have worked through the videos/handouts, you will be selecting (5) scholarly articles to add to your annotated bibliography assignmentYou will also be writing a one-sentence annotation for each article you select.  In case you've forgotten, the assignment sheet for the annotated bibliography is in the Week #2 tab of this guide, and you should have received the Google Docs file where you will actually write your annotated bibliography some weeks ago.  If you do not have access to the Google Docs file, please get in touch with me ASAP!

If you are having any problems, please don't hesitate to get in touch with me.

Popular vs. Scholarly Articles

Popular vs. Scholarly Articles

Below is a handout and video explaining the difference (and importance of knowing the difference!) between popular and scholarly articles.  I've also included 5 pairs of popular and scholarly articles, where each pair discusses the exact same research study, but in very different ways.  Notice how short and general the popular articles are, while the scholarly articles are extremely detailed and contain a number of references.  * I didn't make this video but stitched it together from two other videos by different libraries... they explained it better than I ever could! *

Using the Multi-Database Search

Multi-Database Search (search almost all databases at once!)

GALE Databases (GALE is a company that provides lots of databases for us)

Using a Sample Gale Database

Permalinks (and why you must use them with databases!)

Permalinks (and why you must use them with databases!)

Title says it all here: use Permalinks/Get Links/Stable URLs whenever available.  Watch the video, read the handout, live life to the fullest.

Contact Me


Garrett Traylor
 -- Reference & Cataloging Librarian
Email: garrett.traylor@ic.edu

Office Phone: 217.245.3207

Office: Schewe Library 205
Student Hours: 6:30PM-8:30PM Mondays, 8:30AM-NOON Tuesdays-Fridays
Live Chat with a Librarian