Skip to Main Content

Finding Articles: Home

This guide will aid in finding scholarly articles from the databases available at Illinois College.

Databases at Schewe

Databases are used to identify articles from peer-reviewed journals and other types of periodicals.

Navigate to the Using the Databases tab for more information about how to locate articles from specific databases, or get started with your research by using our Discovery Service (a.k.a. Multi-Database Search).

Finding Articles

Step One: Choose Your Database

The first step to finding articles in our databases is to identify which database(s) you need. Databases are listed alphabetically on the A-Z Database page. You can also sort databases by subject using the drop down at the top of this page.

Some of our popular, general-use databases are listed on the side of the A - Z Database page. These include:

  • Academic Search Complete -- This database provides full-text coverage across a variety of journals. For more information about how to use Academic Search Complete, navigate to the Using Academic Search Complete tab in this guide.
  • JSTOR -- This database provides full-text access to journals and magazines in a variety of content areas, though it has some specialization in literature studies and literary criticism. For more information about how to use JSTOR, navigate to the Using JSTOR tab in this guide.
  • Project MUSE -- Though a general database, Project MUSE excels in humanities and social science content. For more information about how to use Project MUSE, navigate to the Using Project MUSE tab in this guide.
  • Nexis Uni -- This database includes a variety of legal, business and news information. Best used for newspapers, company information, and legal cases.

For more information on any of our individual databases, hover your mouse over the title of the database, and a description will be shown.

Step Two: Search Your Database(s)

Each database is slightly different, but most allow you to limit your searches to return only results to which we have full access. Some will also allow you to limit your results to scholarly (peer reviewed) sources only. These are usually good limiters to apply to your search right from the start to help keep your results accessible and relevant.

If you are having trouble finding resources on a certain topic, try another database or try your search using our Discovery Service (a.k.a. Multi-Database Search). The Discovery Service is a great resource for both getting started on a general topic, as well as for very specific niche topics.

Step Three: Find Print Articles

Keep your citation (name of journal, volume, and issue) handy as you search. If you find a copy of the print journal listed as available in the library, note its location and find it on the shelf. If you find a copy of the print journal in I-Share, you can request the appropriate volume and issue, and pick it up when it arrives at our circulation desk. 

Step Four: Request an Interlibrary Loan

If you have found an article that looks great but is not available in full text online, nor in print in either our local catalog or through I-Share, you can request that article via our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service. First, keep that full citation handy -- you will need it. Second, fill out our ILL with your name, e-mail, and the full citation, and submit your request. This service can take some time, so please plan ahead before making a request. When articles are requested through ILL, they are sent to your email directly as a PDF when ready.