Skip to Main Content
Databases
- Library of Congress - The nation's oldest federal cultural institution, it serves as the research arm of Congress. Great for primary sources and historical records. The LOC also has digital collections such as "Slavery in the United States"
- The Colored Conventions Project - a scholarly and community research project dedicated to bringing the seven decades-long history of nineteenth-century Black organizing to digital life
- Black Thought and Culture Collection - electronic collection of approx. 100,000 pages of non-fiction by major American Black leaders covering 200 years of history
- National Museum of African American History & Culture - this museum has digital research materials and collections for those seeking general information and primary sources
- National Archives - US national archives contains primary documents including a digital collection for Black history
- Black Past - dedicated to providing reliable information on the history of Black people across the globe, and especially in North America
- Women and Social Movements - Women and Social Movements in the US brings together primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, and teaching tools, all documenting the multiplicity of women's activism in public life
- Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) - This diversity studies database includes almost 3,000,000 articles from over 150 journals and magazines about cultural differences and the global community. This database could be very useful for a variety of social science and history papers
- US History (Gale in Context) - This history database cover the most-studied aspects of American history using a variety of primary, secondary, reference, and multimedia content. Great for getting background and context information for your papers.
- African American Historical Serials Collection - This archival database features over 170 full-text periodicals, newspapers, and magazines covering African American life and culture from 1829-1922
