Some reference titles for research in environmental science:
These databases will be the best bets for starting your research in environmental studies. If you are having trouble finding articles, see our Finding Articles guide, or ask a librarian for help!
The best place to find books in environmental science is in the Schewe Library Catalog or in the library on the shelves in the 333 range on the lower level (for economics of land and energy) or the 363.7 range on the lower level (for environmental problems). If you are having trouble finding more books, see our Finding Books guide. Here are some suggested titles:
As Long As Grass Grows: The Indigenous Fight for Environmental Justice, from Colonization to Standing Rock
Eco-Aesthetics: Art, Literature, and Architecture in a Period of Climate Change
God and the Green Divide: Religious Environmentalism in Black and White
Green Gentrification: Urban Sustainability and the Struggle for Environmental Justice
A Regional Geography of the United States and Canada: Toward a Sustainable Future
Sustainable Energy for All: Innovation, Technology and Pro-poor Green TransformationsGovernment Resources
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency - Provides news and education, as well as access to major databases in pollution and environmental quality.
U.S. Department of Agriculture - Information from the USDA on topics ranging from biotechnology to food safety to sustainable development.
USDA Plants Database - Provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. A product of the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service.
Ecology Sites
Encyclopedia of Life - An encyclopedia that compiled information from a variety of sources, intended to have an article for every species of organism on Earth.
Invasive Plant Control Database (Midwest) - This website contains information on how to control many invasive plants common to the Midwestern United States. Information was collected from both scientific literature and expert opinions and summarized.
Illinois Water Resources Center Archives - Full text of the IWRC Research Reports series, organized by major topic.
Professional Societies
Ecological Society of America - A nonpartisan, nonprofit organization of scientists founded to promote ecological science by improving communication among ecologists; raise the public's level of awareness of the importance of ecological science; increase the resources available for the conduct of ecological science; and insure the appropriate use of ecological science in environmental decision making by enhancing communication between the ecological community and policy-makers.
Society for Conservation Biology - An international professional organization dedicated to promoting the scientific study of the phenomena that affect the maintenance, loss, and restoration of biological diversity.
American Geological Institute - The American Geological Institute is a nonprofit federation of 45 geoscientific and professional associations that represents more than 120,000 geologists, geophysicists, and other earth scientists.
American Institute of Biological Sciences - A nonprofit 501(c)(3) scientific association dedicated to advancing biological research and education for the welfare of society.
Talk to your professor or look in your syllabus to determine which citation style you should use.
You can find information on a variety of styles in the Schewe Library citation guide.
