Library Guides: Editing and Publishing: Home

Subject Resources

Some reference titles for research in editing and publishing:

Cite Right
Call Number: R 808.027 L767 2011
Publication Date: 2011
MLA Handbook (8th Edition)
Call Number: R 808.02 G437 2016
Publication Date: 2016
The Chicago Manual of Style (17th Edition)
Call Number: R 808.02 C53 2017
Publication Date: 2017
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th Edition)
Call Number: R 808.02 P976 2020
Publication Date: 2019

These databases will be the best bets for starting your research in editing and publishing. If you are having trouble finding articles, see our Finding Articles guide, or ask a librarian for help!

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This general database provides full-text access to over 1,300 journals and magazines in a variety of content areas. The searching options are limited, but students like the "clean and simple" interface.
Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
The literature database provides the world's most comprehensive collection of information about literature and authors. Includes full-text coverage of over 350 scholarly journals and literary magazines. Also includes critical essays, author bios and book reviews.
LitFinder (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
This literature database contains a wide range of full-text content, including over 140,000 poems, over 7,000 short stories, and nearly 4,000 essays as well as biographies, work summaries, and glossaries.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
This modern languages database indexes over 2.2 millions books, articles and websites having to do with modern languages, literature, linguistics and folklore. No direct full-text, but provides many links to external full-text content.
New York Review of Books, The This link opens in a new window
This magazine database archives all issues of The New York Review of Books from 1963-present. The New York Review of Books features book reviews, essays, original poetry and current affairs reporting.
Book Review Index, Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
This book review database includes over 600,000 full-text book reviews, and also includes over 5,000,000 book review citations. Search Jurassic Park and see what you get!

One excellent place to locate books on editing and publishing is in the Schewe Library Catalog or in the library on the shelves in the 070.5 range on the lower level (for publishing) or in the 808 range on the upper level (for style manuals). If you are having trouble finding more books, see our Finding Books guide. Here are some suggested titles:

The Elements of Style
Call Number: 808 S927
Publication Date: 1979
The Handbook of Scholarly Writing and Publishing
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Mass Authorship and the Rise of Self-Publishing
Call Number: 070.593 L317m
Publication Date: 2016
Merchants of Culture: The Publishing Business in the Twenty-First Century
Call Number: 070.5 T468
Publication Date: 2012
Publishing for Profit
Call Number: 070.5068 W863p
Publication Date: 2014
Self-Publishing on Amazon 2017
Call Number: 070.593 W7211s
Publication Date: 2017

Some example keywords to follow up on searches of your own in our local or I-Share catalogs:

Elsevier - understanding the publishing process
Confessions of a managing editor (or 6 reasons I’m returning your manuscript) by Angelica Kerr
SHERPA/RoMEO
Publisher copyright policies & self-archiving.
Right to Research Coalition: Why Open Access?
Information about open access publishing.
US Bureau of Labor Statistics: Editors
Information on editorial positions in the United States.
US Bureau of Labor Statistics: Desktop Publishers
Information on desktop publishing positions in the United States.
Book Jobs: Commonly Used Terms
The site serves two purposes: to provide a centralized place for job seekers to research available positions throughout the publishing industry, and to provide basic information about the book publishing industry as a whole—commonly used words and terms in the industry, department descriptions, companies, events, and other information.
Videolectures.net on Publishing
Free videos from Videolectures.net about publishing.
Small Press Distribution
An association connecting readers and small presses. Includes book reviews, publishers' pages for books, listings for new issues of lit journals and more

Subject Reference Person

Schewe Library

Email Me