Library Guides: Computer Science: Home

Subject Resources

Some background and reference titles for research in computer science:

CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics by Weisstein, Eric W.
Call Number: R 510.3 W433
ISBN: 9780849396403
Publication Date: 1998
Think Data Structures by Downey, Allen B.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2017
The Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics by Everitt, Brian S.
Call Number: R 519.503 E93
Publication Date: 2002

These databases will be the best bets for starting your research in computer science. If you are having trouble finding articles, see our Finding Articles guide, or ask a librarian for help!

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) This link opens in a new window
This computer science database provides a complete collection of The Association for Computing Machinery's publications as well as full-text coverage of over 50 journals and magazines relating to computer science and IT.
Computer Science (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This computer science database provides full-text access to over 600 journals and magazines in the computer science, telecommunications, electrical engineering, and electronics fields.

The best place to find books about computer science is in the Schewe Library Catalog or in the library on the shelves in the 004-006 ranges on the lower level (for computer science, programming, and special computer methods), and the 621.39 range on the upper level (for computer engineering). If you are having trouble finding more books, see our Finding Books guide. Here are some suggested titles:

Starting Out with Python by Gaddis, Tony
Call Number: 005.133 G123s
Publication Date: 2015
Guide to Java: A Concise Introduction to Programming by Streib, James T. and Takako Soma
Call Number: 005.133 S9155g
Publication Date: 2014
Faculty publication: located near DLC on main floor.
Pro SharePoint 2013 Branding and Responsive Web Development by Overfield, Eric and others
Call Number: 004.682 O964p
Publication Date: 2013
Guide to HTML, JavaScript and PHP by Brooks, David R.
Call Number: 005.27 B873
Publication Date: 2011
Starting Out with Visual C# by Gaddis, Tony
Call Number: 005.13 G123s
Publication Date: 2016
Numeric Computation and Statistical Data Analysis on the Java Platform by Chekanov, Sergei V.
Call Number: 001.4226 C5158n
Publication Date: 2016
Ruby on Rails Tutorial by Hartl, Michael
Call Number: 006.7 H331r
Publication Date: 2015

Some example keywords to follow up on searches of your own in our local or I-Share catalogs:

Brian Harvey's SICP Lectures
From the 61A course at UC Berkeley.
Videolectures.net on Computer Science
VideoLectures.NET is an award-winning free and open access educational video lectures repository. The lectures are given by distinguished scholars and scientists at the most important and prominent events like conferences, summer schools, workshops and science promotional events from many fields of Science.
Kanopy Videos on Computer Science
Videos from the Kanopy streaming video service.
TED Talks on Programming
TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less).
MIT Open Courseware
Twenty video lectures by Hal Abelson and Gerald Jay Sussman, following the first edition (1985) of Structure and Interpretation of Computer Programs.

A Beginner's Glossary of Coding and Programming Terms
A glossary of coding and programming terms (Recommended by Fullers Library STEM Club!)
Foundations of Computer Science
Free digital version of this book made available by authors. "Written for those already familiar with programming, Aho and Ullman's innovative textbook skillfully integrates the discrete mathematics computer science students need to know with the models, concepts, and techniques of the field."
Learn Python the Hard Way
Learn Python The Hard Way takes you from absolute zero to able to read and write basic Python to then understand other books on Python. No experience necessary to begin, and you can even try the book out for free to see if the method works for you. If you've always wanted to learn to code but have no idea where to begin, then this book is for you.
Teach Yourself Computer Science
A comprehensive self-help guide to subjects in computer science, covering: programming, computer architecture, algorithms and data structures, math for CS, operating systems, computer networking, databases, languages and compilers, and distributed systems.
IEEE Computer Society
This society is the world's oldest and largest association of people in computing, and offers a multitude of information about conferences, standards, education, and careers.
Association for Computing Machinery
ACM has loads of resources and support from online courses to a digital library and special support.
ACM Committee on Women in Computing
ACM-W supports female computer science students through mentoring, role modeling, and other programs.
CERT Coordination Center
This group studies vulnerabilities, attacks, and publishes alerts.
Open Source Vulnerability Database
This searchable database of open source vulnerabilities can be downloaded in XML.
W3 Schools
The World Wide Web Consortium shares extensive studying tools and tutorials for web development here.
Khan Academy Computer Programming
Take free online classes provided by an educational non-profit.
Code.org
Learn to code by playing games.
JS Bin
Do your JavaScript development and debugging; with a long list of framework and JS library choices, export to Github Gist, and other features, including console panel.

Talk to your professor or look in your syllabus to determine which citation style you should use.

Computer science articles may use a variety of APA, MLA, Chicago, or other styles. You can find more information on these styles in the Schewe Library citation guide.

And always remember to comment your code!

Subject Reference Person

Schewe Library

Email Me