Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If you're just starting out as a biology student and need to get some background/fundamentals, the following can help:
To search all of Schewe's databases, use the following:
To search databases with considerable amounts of biology content, consider the following:
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
This biology database provides full-text coverage of over 180 scholarly journals relating to biology, ecology and environmental science. Specializes in not-for-profit scientific journals.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
This biology and medical database provides full-text coverage of over 200 scholarly journals relating to biology and medicine. You can either browse by journal or use the search box in the top right of the screen to search with keywords.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to a massive repository of biomedical and genomic information. The coverage overlaps at times with PubMed and PubMed Central, but also contains other, often freely accessible, articles and resources.
Science (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
This general science database provides a variety of reference, overview, and experimental content related to all the major sciences. Though this database is great for foundational science topics, it does not contain many peer-reviewed articles.
Agricola This link opens in a new window
This agriculture database includes over 5.7 million citations from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agriculture Library. This is the most widely-used database in the agriculture and agribusiness fields.
Gardening & Horticulture (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This horticultural database provides access to over 3,000,000 articles sourced from over 100 scholarly and professional journals. The database also includes a variety of reference books, chiefly relating to flowers and foliage.
Here are some searches that will get you a variety of biology books:
Here are some classics in the field that biology majors should be familiar with:
You can find reliable and high-quality videos on a variety of topics below:
You can find reliable and high-quality biology videos on the following topics:
Here are some websites which might be helpful for a biology student:
For help citing materials, click below:
For help citing in the APA format, which is often used in biology, consider using Schewe Library's APA citation guide: