Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If you are just starting out as a religion student and need some background/fundamentals, the following can help:
To search all of Schewe's databases, use the following:
To search religious studies content, consider the following:
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new window
This religious studies database provides coverage of nearly 525 full-text journals across all fields of religion and theology. Also indexes over 550,000 book and essay records (unfortunately not in full-text).
Religion & Philosophy (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This religion and philosophy database includes access to over 1,000,000 indexed and full-text articles sourced from over 200 scholarly religious and philosophy journals. Full-text coverage is from the 1980s forward.
Philosopher's Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This philosophy database is the only game in town insofar as philosophy databases go. It provides full-text coverage of over 200 philosophy journals, and additionally indexes nearly1,700 peer- journals. Also includes select reference materials.
Here are some searches that will get you a variety of religious studies books:
Here are some books in the religious studies field which speak to timely and important topics:
You can find reliable and high-quality videos on a variety of topics below:
You can find reliable and high-quality religion videos on the following topics:
Here are some websites which might be helpful for an religion student:
For help citing materials, click below:
For help citing in the Chicago format, which is often used in religious studies, consider using Schewe Library's Chicago citation guide: