Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If you are just starting out as a neuroscience student and need some background/fundamentals, the following can help:
To search all of Schewe's databases, use the following:
To search databases with neuroscience content, consider the following:
American Chemical Society Publications (ACS) This link opens in a new window
This chemistry database provides full-text coverage of nearly 50 journals published by the American Chemical Society (which is the world's largest and most influential scientific society). Essential for chemists.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
This psychology database contains almost 125 full-text journals from the American Psychological Association, the Canadian Psychological Association, the Educational Publishing Foundation and the Hogrefe Publishing Group.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
This psychology database provides bibliographic citations for over 2,500 psychology/psychologically-relevant journals (a portion of which are available in full-text). Also includes a number of doctoral dissertations.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
This biology database provides full-text coverage of over 180 scholarly journals relating to biology, ecology and environmental science. Specializes in not-for-profit scientific journals.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This nursing and medical database contains over 500 full-text allied health journals, and also includes indexing for more than 3,000 health journals. In addition to nursing science, this database will be useful to those studying biology, psychology, and other health-related disciplines.
Health & Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This health science database contains over 2,500 full-text periodicals and eBooks, and is designed to give student researchers current and comprehensive information about a range of health issues. It also includes multimedia content, much of which is devoted to live surgeries!
Science (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
This general science database provides a variety of reference, overview, and experimental content related to all the major sciences. Though this database is great for foundational science topics, it does not contain many peer-reviewed articles.
Here are some searches that will get you a variety of neuroscience and related books:
Here are some books in the neuroscience field which speak to timely and important topics:
You can find reliable and high-quality videos on a variety of topics below:
You can find reliable and high-quality agribusiness videos on the following topics:
Here are some websites that might be helpful for a neuroscience student:
For help citing materials, click below:
For help citing in the APA format, which is often used in neuroscience, consider using Schewe Library's APA citation guide: