Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To search all of Schewe's databases, use the following:
To search databases that have considerable amounts of German content in them, consider the following:
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
This modern languages database indexes over 2.2 millions books, articles and websites having to do with modern languages, literature, linguistics and folklore. No direct full-text, but provides many links to external full-text content.
Here are some websites which might be helpful for a German student:
Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek (DDB)
The Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek offers access to digitized books, objects, and media. Available in German and English.
An online resource with basic information about Germany and its culture.
Dict.cc German Dictionary
An online German-English dictionary.
Google Arts and Culture: Germany
A database featuring digitized images from German museum collections, tours of historic sites, and stories of German art and culture.
A free online dictionary that accurately translates many languages to German.
A German-English online dictionary and translator. Also available in other languages.
The New York Times- Germany
A search that will get you the most recent New York Times articles about Germany.
A Review of German Grammar
This review goes over key concepts of German grammar from verb conjugation to word order to noun declension.
You can find reliable and high-quality German videos on the following topics:
You can find reliable and high-quality videos on a variety of topics below:
For help citing in the MLA format, which is often used in German, consider using Schewe Library's MLA citation guide:
For more general help with citation, click below: