Library Guides: Chemistry: Home

Subject Resources

If you are just starting out as a chemistry student and need some background/fundamentals, the following can help:

Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials
Call Number: R 604.7 S272
Publication Date: 2012
Hazardous Chemicals Desk Reference
Call Number: R 604.7 H428 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Materials Handbook
Call Number: R 620.1 B812
Publication Date: 2002
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary
Call Number: R 540.3 L333
Publication Date: 2016
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook
Call Number: R 660 P465
Publication Date: 1997
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Call Number: R 541.9 C517h
Publication Date: 2009

To search all of Schewe's databases, use the following:

To search chemistry-specific databases, consider the following:

American Chemical Society Publications (ACS) This link opens in a new window
This chemistry database provides full-text coverage of nearly 50 journals published by the American Chemical Society (which is the world's largest and most influential scientific society). Essential for chemists.
PubChem This link opens in a new window
PubChem is a chemical compound database which contains information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others. It mostly focuses on small molecules, but also contains larger molecules and chemical compounds including drugs, nucleotides including siRNAs and miRNAs, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules.
Science (from the American Association for the Advancement of Science) This link opens in a new window
All current and historical articles from the journal Science, published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science. While not technically a database, this journal contains articles on the advancement of science and science-related topics
Science (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
This general science database provides a variety of reference, overview, and experimental content related to all the major sciences. Though this database is great for foundational science topics, it does not contain many peer-reviewed articles.

Here are some searches that will get you a variety of chemistry books:

Here are some books in the chemistry field which are recent and recommended:

The Practice of Medicinal Chemistry
Call Number: 615.19 W489p
Publication Date: 2015
Organic Nanomaterials
Call Number: 620.11 O68
Publication Date: 2013
Liquid-State Physical Chemistry
Call Number: 541.0422 W822
Publication Date: 2013
When Topology Meets Chemistry
Call Number: 541.015 F585
Publication Date: 2000
Reactions: The Private Life of Atoms
Call Number: 541.3 A873
Publication Date: 2011

Kanopy Videos on Chemistry
Videos from the Kanopy streaming video service.
TED Talks on Chemistry
TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less).TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less).TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less).TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less).TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less).
Videolectures.net on Chemistry
VideoLectures.NET is an award-winning free and open access educational video lectures repository. The lectures are given by distinguished scholars and scientists at the most important and prominent events like conferences, summer schools, workshops and science promotional events from many fields of Science.

Chemistry Dictionary for Word Processors
Download a free chemistry dictionary (licensed under Creative Commons) for word processors. The dictionary is compatible for Microsoft Office (Windows or Mac), and Open Office (Windows or Linux).
Common Chemistry
From Chemical Abstracts Service, a free look-up for CAS Registry Numbers of approximately 7,800 chemicals of widespread general public interest.
Directory of Graduate Research
Searchable online version of the American Chemical Society's Directory of Graduate Research, providing information on graduate programs at universities in the United States and Canada.
eMolecules
Free database to find suppliers and properties; can search by structure.
Hazardous Substances Data Bank
Information on hazardous substances, from the National Library of Medicine.
Khan Academy on Chemistry
Khan Academy is a non-profit educational organization created in 2006 with the goal of creating a set of online tools that help educate students. The organization produces short lessons in the form of YouTube videos.
Khan Academy on Organic Chemistry
Khan Academy is a non-profit educational organization created in 2006 with the goal of creating a set of online tools that help educate students. The organization produces short lessons in the form of YouTube videos.
MatWeb (Material Property Data)
Free source of materials properties, searchable by range of property values.
Patents (Google)
An easy-to-search free source of U.S. patents.
Periodic Table Live!
Information on elements of the periodic table linking to a range of information, including discovery and history, preparation, uses, physical data, atomic data (ionization energy, radii, volume, etc.), images, video, and crystal structure.

For help citing materials, click below:

For help citing in the APA format, which is often used in chemistry, consider using Schewe Library's APA citation guide:

The ACS style is also frequently used in chemistry citations, and you can find the ACS style guide below:

The ACS Style Guide
Call Number: R 808.066 A187 2006
Publication Date: 2006

Subject Reference Person

Schewe Library

Email Me