Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If you're just starting out as an education student and need to get some background/fundamentals, the following can help:
To search all of Schewe's databases, use the following:
To search education databases, consider the following:
The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) is the largest education database in the world, and contains over 1.5 million full-text records from scholarly journals, books, dissertations, curricula, etc.
Educators Reference Complete (Gale OneFile)
This education database – designed for professional and aspiring educators – provides full-text access to over 1,100 professional journals. The database covers preschool through postsecondary education, and also delves into a variety of specialized educational areas (testing, bilingual education, administration, etc.).
Teacher Reference Center
This education database is designed for professional educators and administrators. It features a mix of scholarly and professional material and indexes nearly 300 education journals (some with full-text).
Professional Development Collection (Education Journals)
An education database designed for professional educators and education students. Provides access to over 500 full-text journals (300 of which are peer-reviewed) as well as various educational reports.
Chronicle of Higher Education
The Chronicle of Higher Education is the premier newspaper related to higher education in the world. This databases includes current issues of The Chronicle of Higher Education, as well as a full-text archive of articles dating back to 1989.
This psychology database contains almost 125 full-text journals from the American Psychological Association, the Canadian Psychological Association, the Educational Publishing Foundation and the Hogrefe Publishing Group.
Here are some searches that will get you a variety of education books:
Here are some classics in the field that education majors should be familiar with:
You can find reliable and high-quality videos on a variety of topics below:
You can find reliable and high-quality education videos on the following topics:
Here are some websites which might be helpful for an education student:
For help citing materials, click below:
For help citing in the APA format, which is often used in education, consider using Schewe Library's APA citation guide: