Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Some reference titles for research in criminal justice:
These databases will be the best bets for starting your research in criminal justice. If you are having trouble finding articles, see our Finding Articles guide, or ask a librarian for help!
Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile)
This sociology and criminal justice database includes over 250 full-text scholarly and professional journals. Those interested in law, law enforcement, terrorism prevention, forensic science, and crime scene investigation would do well to consult this database.
LegalTrac (Gale OneFile)
This legal database contains over 200 full-text legal publications, and features coverage of U.S., British Commonwealth, and European Union law. The database also includes law reviews, Bar Association publications, and select legal newspapers.
This general database draws from over 17,000 distinct sources, and includes a variety of legal, business and news information. Best used for newspapers, company information and legal cases. The update to Nexis Uni provides a new, more intuitive, interface, and the option to personalize your research!
The best place to find books about criminal justice is in the Schewe Library Catalog or in the library on the shelves primarily in the 345 range on the lower level (for criminal law) and the 364 range on the lower level (for criminology). If you are having trouble finding more books, see our Finding Books guide. Here are some suggested titles:
Some example keywords to follow up on searches of your own in our local or I-Share catalogs:
Kanopy Videos on Criminal Justice
Videos from the Kanopy streaming video service.
TED Talks on Crime
TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less).
Videolectures.net on Criminology
VideoLectures.NET is an award-winning free and open access educational video lectures repository. The lectures are given by distinguished scholars and scientists at the most important and prominent events like conferences, summer schools, workshops and science promotional events from many fields of Science.
American Society of Criminology
The American Society of Criminology is an international organization whose members pursue scholarly, scientific, and professional knowledge concerning the measurement, etiology, consequences, prevention, control, and treatment of crime and delinquency.
Schewe Library guide. Contains resources to help students, faculty, and staff deepen their understanding of the pervasiveness of racism, the experiences of people of color, and what they can do to eliminate racial disparities locally and globally.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
The BJS publishes reports online and in print. Statistics in the areas of law enforcement, prosecution, courts and sentencing, corrections (including capital punishment), and expenditure and employment.
A National Institute of Justice site with research which rates the effectiveness of criminal justice programs and practices for practitioners and policy makers intended to figure out what works, what doesn't, and what's promising in criminal justice, juvenile justice, and crime victim services.
Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center
The Federal Justice Statistics Program (FJSP) database containing information about suspects and defendants processed in the Federal criminal justice system.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
Over 550 data collections relating to criminal justice. Download data and/or compile and manipulate raw data to create your own statistical tables.
U.S. Census Bureau
Current and historical U.S. demographic data. Browse by topic or use American FactFinder or State & County Quick Facts. Links to federal, state, and international statistical resources as well.
Uniform Crime Reporting, Federal Bureau of Investigation
Statistical crime reports and publications, detailing specific offenses and outlining national and local trends in crime. Includes: Crime in the United States, National Incident-Based Reporting System, Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted, and Hate Crime Statistics with data from over 18,000 city, university/college, county, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement agencies.
Talk to your professor or look in your syllabus to determine which citation style you should use.
Criminal justice articles may use a variety of APA, MLA, Chicago, or other styles. You can find more information on these styles in the Schewe Library citation guide.