Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If you're just starting out as an art student, the following resources can help. These books are available at Schewe Library as reference books on the main floor. This means that they cannot be checked out, but you are welcome to use them any time inside the Library:
To search all of Schewe's databases, use the following:
The databases below will be the best bets for starting your research in art. If you are having trouble finding articles, see our Finding Articles guide, or ask a librarian for help!
This art database includes curated repository of images, with a heavy emphasis on art, architecture and specialized photography collections. Images are royalty-free and usable by students in educational products.
Fine Arts (Gale OneFile)
This music and art database provides access to over 10,000,000 articles sourced over 250 full-text fine arts journals. This database will appeal to students interested in drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Metropolitan Museum Online
Contains over 400,000 digitized images of works held in New York's Metropolitan Museum of Art. In addition to a basic search, you can also search by date, geography and object type.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
Contains almost 700,000 images digitized from various New York Public Library collections. The search functionality isn't too fantastic, so try browsing a specific collection for best results.
The best place to find books about art is in the Schewe Library Catalog or in the library on the shelves primarily in the 700 - 709 range on the upper level. If these books are available, you are welcome to check them out with your student ID. If you are having trouble finding more books, see our Finding Books guide. Here are some suggested titles:
Resources for Creating Art
Resources for Art History
You can find reliable and high-quality videos on a variety of topics below:
You can find reliable and high-quality art videos on the following topics:
Here are some websites which might be helpful for an art student:
For help citing in the Chicago format, which is often used in the fine arts, consider using Schewe Library's Chicago citation guide: