Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If you're just starting out as a health sciences student and need to learn the background and fundamentals of the subject, the following can help:
To search all of Schewe's databases, use the following:
These databases will be the best bets for starting your research in Health Sciences. If you are having trouble finding articles, see our Finding Articles guide, or ask a librarian for help!
This biology and medical database provides full-text coverage of over 200 scholarly journals relating to biology and medicine. You can either browse by journal or use the search box in the top right of the screen to search with keywords.
Consumer Health Complete
This health database provides full-text coverage of over 500 journals and magazines as well as full-text coverage of 250 health reference books. Also includes over 2,500 custom reports on various health topics
Health & Medicine (Gale OneFile)
This health science database contains over 2,500 full-text periodicals and eBooks, and is designed to give student researchers current and comprehensive information about a range of health issues. It also includes multimedia content, much of which is devoted to live surgeries!
Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine (Gale OneFile)
This physical therapy database provides access to over 80 full-text journals dealing with physical therapy, physical fitness, or sports medicine. The database contains information ranging from proven treatment techniques to experimental research.
This health and medical database provides over 25 million bibliographic citations having-to-do with biomedical and life science topics. While there isn't a lot of full-text content in PubMed, it is the best medical database in the world.
This health and medical database is a full-text only version of PubMed. This means there are fewer articles to search, but all are immediately available.
Here are some websites which might be helpful for a health sciences student:
The best place to find books about Health Sciences is in the Schewe Library Catalog or in the library on the shelves primarily in the 610 range on the upper level of the Library. If you are having trouble finding more books, see our Finding Books guide. Here are some suggested titles:
You can find reliable and high-quality videos on a variety of topics below:
You can find reliable and high-quality health sciences-related videos on the following topics here: