Articles to read:
- "A Dozen-Plus Ways You Can Foster Educational Equity" by Viji Sathy, Kelly A. Hogan, and Calvin M. Sims | Chronicle of Higher Education (July 1, 2020)
- “America’s Racial Contract Is Killing Us” by Adam Serwer | Atlantic (May 8, 2020)
- "As Pandemic Deaths Add Up, Racial Disparities Persist — And In Some Cases Worsen" by Daniel Wood | NPR (September 23, 2020)
- Ella Baker and the Black Freedom Movement (Mentoring a New Generation of Activists)
- “My Life as an Undocumented Immigrant” by Jose Antonio Vargas | NYT Mag (June 22, 2011)
- The 1619 Project (all the articles) | The New York Times Magazine
- The Combahee River Collective Statement
- “The Intersectionality Wars” by Jane Coaston, featuring Kimberlé Crenshaw | Vox (May 28, 2019)
- Tips for Creating Effective White Caucus Groups developed by Craig Elliott PhD
- “Where do I donate? Why is the uprising violent? Should I go protest?” by Courtney Martin (June 1, 2020)
- “White Privilege: Unpacking the Invisible Knapsack” by Knapsack Peggy McIntosh
- “Who Gets to Be Afraid in America?” by Dr. Ibram X. Kendi | Atlantic (May 12, 2020)
The databases below are also good places to start a search for academic articles focusing on issues of racial justice. If you are having trouble finding articles, see our Finding Articles guide, or ask a librarian for help!
- Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This sociology and criminal justice database includes over 250 full-text scholarly and professional journals. Those interested in law, law enforcement, terrorism prevention, forensic science, and crime scene investigation would do well to consult this database.
- Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This diversity studies database includes almost 3,000,000 articles from over 150 journals and magazines about cultural differences and the global community. This database could be very useful for a variety of social science and history papers.
- Pop Culture Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This pop culture database includes almost 200 full-text publications relating to some aspect of pop culture. The stuff in this database is necessarily a bit of a hodgepodge, but is worth a look for the curious.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX is the premier sociology database and includes full-text coverage of over 400 sociology journals (and selective full-text coverage of nearly 3,000 additional sociology journals).
