Library Guides: Biochemistry: Home

Subject Resources

Some reference titles for research in biochemistry:

Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary
Call Number: R 540.3 L333
Publication Date: 2016
Available as eBook and in print in the Reference Collection.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Call Number: R 541.9 C517h
Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology
Call Number: R 574.8 S9721
Publication Date: 2015

These databases will be the best bets for starting your research in biochemistry. If you are having trouble finding articles, see our Finding Articles guide, or ask a librarian for help!

American Chemical Society Publications (ACS) This link opens in a new window
This chemistry database provides full-text coverage of nearly 50 journals published by the American Chemical Society (which is the world's largest and most influential scientific society). Essential for chemists.
PubChem This link opens in a new window
PubChem is a chemical compound database which contains information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others. It mostly focuses on small molecules, but also contains larger molecules and chemical compounds including drugs, nucleotides including siRNAs and miRNAs, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
This biology and medical database provides full-text coverage of over 200 scholarly journals relating to biology and medicine. You can either browse by journal or use the search box in the top right of the screen to search with keywords.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to a massive repository of biomedical and genomic information. The coverage overlaps at times with PubMed and PubMed Central, but also contains other, often freely accessible, articles and resources.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
This health and medical database is a full-text only version of PubMed. This means there are fewer articles to search, but all are immediately available.

The best place to find books about biochemistry is in the Schewe Library Catalog or in the library on the shelves primarily in the 572 range on the upper floor (for biochemistry). If you are having trouble finding more books, see our Finding Books guide. Here are some suggested titles:

Principles of Medical Biochemistry
Call Number: 612.015 S5922p
Publication Date: 2016
Natriuretic Peptides: The Hormones of the Heart
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2007
Available online and off campus. IC log-in required.
Thermodynamics of Biochemical Reactions
Call Number: 547.2 C932
Publication Date: 2003
George Beadle, an Uncommon Farmer: The Emergence of Genetics in the 20th Century
Call Number: 576.5 B365
Publication Date: 2003
Thermodynamics and Kinetics for the Biological Sciences
Call Number: 572.07 H224t
Publication Date: 2000

Kanopy Videos on Biochemistry
Videos from the Kanopy streaming video service.
Videolectures.net on Biochemistry
VideoLectures.NET is an award-winning free and open access educational video lectures repository. The lectures are given by distinguished scholars and scientists at the most important and prominent events like conferences, summer schools, workshops and science promotional events from many fields of Science.

American Chemical Society (ACS) Web
Features of the ACS web page include meeting and conference information, government and policy news, available software, educational outreach, and career services. Additional information is provided about chemistry journals and related online resources.
BRENDA
Free database containing information on over 6500 enzymes: nomenclature, EC and registry numbers, reaction and specificity, inhibitors, structure, isolation, literature references, etc.
ChemSpider
ChemSpider provides free text and structure search access of millions of chemical structures across the web. It is the richest single source of structure-based chemistry information. ChemSpider is owned by the RSC and provided as a free resource to the community.
ChemSpy
You can do specific chemistry related searches using the ChemIndustry or the Chemedia search engine. All databases included in this service are free of charge and available without login.
ChemWeb
ChemWeb.com provides access to the information chemists need to enhance their research, product development, self-development, education, and/or their businesses in Chemistry and related disciplines.
eMolecules
A good source to search for supplier information of chemicals by drawing the structures or using their chemical name, CAS numner, and SMILES. You can find suppliers and information for over 9 million unique chemicals. Substructure and exact structure search are allowed in the advanced search. For expert search, you have to log in first. No reaction and chemical properties information are covered in eMolecules.
ENZYME
"ENZYME is a repository of information relative to the nomenclature of enzymes. It is primarily based on the recommendations of the Nomenclature Committee of the International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (IUBMB) and it describes each type of characterized enzyme for which an EC (Enzyme Commission) number has been provided." (ExPASy)
ExPASy
"ExPASy is the SIB Bioinformatics Resource Portal which provides access to scientific databases and software tools (i.e., resources) in different areas of life sciences including proteomics, genomics, phylogeny, systems biology, population genetics, transcriptomics etc."
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
Parent site of the major NLM databases, including PubMed, GenBank, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, PubChem, and others. (NIH)
Protein Data Bank
The Protein Data Bank (PDB) archive is the single worldwide repository of information about the 3D structures of large biological molecules, including proteins and nucleic acids.
Proteopedia
A wiki site that aims to collect, organize and disseminate structural and functional knowledge about protein, RNA, DNA, and other macromolecules, and their assemblies and interactions with small molecules.

Talk to your professor or look in your syllabus to determine which citation style you should use.

Biochemistry articles may often use the American Chemistry Society (ACS) style. For information on other styles, see the Schewe Library citation guide.

The ACS Style Guide
Call Number: R 808.066 A187 2006
Publication Date: 2006

Subject Reference Person

Schewe Library

Email Me